The Party Barge

As our exciting day came to an end we drove to meet some new friends and take a sunset ride on Lake Verret. Glenn & Lisa had been telling us about the Party Barge ride we had scheduled and I’m sure it’s no surprise to you that there was a communication error. You see, when I heard party barge, I thought of the picture to the left. I had no idea who all would be on this thing, I was just sure it would have a bathroom. Well, many of you may know, Sun Tracker makes a Pontoon boat that many call a party barge…LOL yes, we went with a few new friends on a peaceful pontoon boat ride on Lake Verret. There was no need to pull out my new gold shoes and change out of that orange shirt that I wore ALL day and had on in EVERY picture.

The store that I mentioned in my first post, Pierre Part Store, is owned/ran by Ken & Karen St. Germain. We visited the store earlier Saturday and I was able to meet sweet Claire, Ken, and our captain for the afternoon ride, Ken’s son Kyle. {sadly I didn’t have my camera in there with me}. They were so kind to give Tim & me a basket full of goodies including 2 Tervis Tumblers with their 100th Anniversary Logo on them. A keepsake I’ll always enjoy. 🙂

We met Karen earlier that day while riding through town and found out that she is their State Representative. She was very ‘down to earth’ {not sure if those Cajun’s know what that means…it means the REAL DEAL} and was very proud of her community.

We loaded up on the St. Germain’s Party Barge with our Captain Kyle, his friend Cheri, Glenn, Lisa & their daughter Shadie. The ride was absolutely beautiful.

Interesting things about these cypress trees. The things around them are cypress knees. Click here to watch Troy Landry explain what their function is.

As you can imagine, after a long ride away from land with four women on a boat, we were in desperate search of a bathroom. Thankfully we came upon Mr. Mark Newchurch’s camp. His home was across the road {I’ll explain about their camps in a later post} so Glenn ran across the road to ask for use of his facilities. He was kind enough to let us park the boat and enter his camp.

The sun was setting so we headed back to shore. We had to get back in time to eat at Landry’s Seafood. Tim had waited as long as he could for some good ‘ole Cajun Cookin’. The drive home was just as beautiful. The sun setting through the cypress tress was breathtaking. 

We made it back safely, thanked our Captain, and headed to eat at Landry’s.

to be cont…

Leave a comment

Filed under Anniversary, Friends, My Beloved

Leave a comment