We Finally Meet

After an adventurous morning in Pierre Part, we decided to drive back to Duffy’s to see if any of the Landry boys were there. When we arrived there was a small crowd…a sure sign they would be there soon.  We parked the car and ventured our way to the cooler. We saw Bubba Landry and chatted with him until the boys rolled in. 

Jacob was hunting with his younger brother this season, so Mr. Troy was home resting. I spotted his red truck pass by so we quickly made our way to the front of the store. Everyone stood back as he got out of his truck. I shouldn’t surprise you that I was the 1st person to go up to him. I’d been planning this trip for 4 months, I wasn’t about to be last in line lol. He was so kind to us and spent as much time as he could talking with us. I decided it was rude to take up his time and not share him with the other fans, so Tim & I explored his boat. 

It was neat to see all of his “tools” {far lack of a better word} that he used for hunting. I tried to get Tim to sit in it, but he wouldn’t.

After getting our items signed and visiting with Mr. Troy, we headed to the cooler again to wait on Jacob. The camera crew rolled in so we knew the gators were on the way. They had sent word that Jacob had 2 big ones. We had no idea they would be as big as they were. The producer sent Mr. Troy back home to get his blue shirt that he always wears and then they revealed the catch. The crowd stood back as they tossed most of the gators out of the boat and then…the lift pulled up to the boat and removed 2 monster gators. Can I tell you that this was a learning experience for me. They were both males…that’s all I’ll say. 🙂

We got Jacob to sign some items for the kids and took many pictures of these monster creatures. Today was my 1st close encounter with alligators so I was a little nervous about being among them. Not to mention the smell that reeked under the shelter. Mr. Troy told us that once a gator is shot, they vomit. You can imagine how pleasant the smell was. Tim had his phone taking pictures and videos and sending them to the kids and his family. People were going crazy sitting on them and touching them all over. It was almost more than I could handle. And then…Mr. Troy called us over and said, “sit down let’s take a picture.” I can’t tell you how horrified I was…but I did it. Lisa was able to capture the moment on camera. Yes, I was about to cry.

After all of the excitement was over, we went to a local burger joint, Buddy’s Drive-In, for a late lunch. 

The day was far from over. We regrouped {as I like to say} and got ready for a ride on the Party Barge.

to be cont…

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Anniversary, Friends, My Beloved

Leave a comment